On 8/21/2008, Jim Townsend posted this:
> virig wrote:
>> Would you like to track your time, speed, distance and miles traveled?
>> [Probable spam deleted]
> Is this spam ever going to end? All this person wants is traffic going to
> his web site, and most importantly, he wants people clicking on his ad links
> so he can make money. He gets paid when people click on them.
> The information at this site is nothing more than a brief overview added only
> to provide some sort of relevant GPS content.
> I'd rather get the info right from the TrackStick manufacturer's home page
> rather than from some half baked spamming Googlepages site.
> http://www.trackstick.com/
Some posters recommend suppressing the spam links when you reply to a
spammer, similarly to what I did above, in order not to make it easy
for someone to click on it from a reply :-)
Also, if someone has filtered out his posts but not others' replies to
them, they end up having a copy of the link that they would have
missed.
It may also "improve" (i.e., reduce) the statistics of search engines -
after all, you have doubled the hits on virig's link.
That said, thanks for your discussion of what he's doing, and what the
real link is.
I haven't been reading his posts; pretty early on I created a filter to
mark them as read. I rarely delete posts, or even mark them as in this
case, but I got annoyed ;-)
--
Gene E. Bloch (Gino) letters617blochg3251
(replace the numbers by "at" and "dotcom")