GPS Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Garmin nuvi 350 suddenly lost ability to find satellites.

 
 
richg99
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-16-2009, 01:33 PM
After serving me well for a couple of years, the unit now cannot find any
satellites. I am no more than ten miles from its last known location. After
trying for a while, it comes up with three questions. Am I inside (no). Am
I more than 100 km from the last known location. ( I've tried answering this
both NO (true) and Yes...to no avail. and..... Is it the correct date (
yes).

I've tried it sitting still with no tree cover; and tried it while driving
around nearby at 40 mph. It has looked for up to 30 minutes and found no
satellites, since this trouble began.

Any ideas or trouble shooting fixes? I've completely turned the unit off and
then back on...that didn't help either. I have NOT updated the map.

regards and thanks Rich

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Angelo Campanella
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-16-2009, 02:14 PM
richg99 wrote:
> After serving me well for a couple of years, the unit now cannot find
> any satellites. I am no more than ten miles from its last known
> location. After trying for a while, it comes up with three questions.
> Am I inside (no). Am I more than 100 km from the last known location. (
> I've tried answering this both NO (true) and Yes...to no avail.
> and..... Is it the correct date ( yes).
>
> I've tried it sitting still with no tree cover; and tried it while
> driving around nearby at 40 mph. It has looked for up to 30 minutes and
> found no satellites, since this trouble began.
>
> Any ideas or trouble shooting fixes? I've completely turned the unit off
> and then back on...that didn't help either. I have NOT updated the map.


The techhie answer is that the receiver has lost its sensitivity. Another
possibility is that the backup battery is dying or is dead.

The Garmin FAQ for the 350 rovides this answer (Hints at a softare update) for
no satellite reception: .

http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/sit...ites&Go=Submit


BUT I just copied the answer thusly:

///////////quote\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Question: Why won't my nuvi 3xx acquire satellites?
Answer:

If your nüvi 3xx is no longer acquiring satellites please read the article
linked below to ensure that this is not being caused by something in your
environment:

Why won't my unit acquire satellites?

If after reading the above article your unit is still having problems, please
ensure that your unit's software is up to date. You can do this by using our
WebUpdater® program.

If you have tried all of the above suggestions and your unit is still not
acquiring satellites, you can perform a master reset by doing the following:

Note: A master reset will erase all waypoints or favorites and will restore
your unit to the default factory settings.

(ED: I suggest you save all your waypoints, then do the deed.)

1. Turn the device OFF.
2. Place your fingertip or the eraser end of a pencil in the top right
corner of the touchscreen.
3. Apply pressure in the top right corner of the screen.
4. While pressing down on the screen, power ON the unit and continue
pressing on the screen. A message displays to confirm if you really want to
delete all user data?
5. Touch Yes.
6. The unit will now restart.
7. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up the nuvi.

Once the reset is complete, please place your unit in an area with clear view
of the sky until it acquires satellites. If you are still having issues please
contact product support at (800) 800-1020.


Last modified on: 07/30/2008

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\unquote///////////////////////

Angelo Campanella

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
OG
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-16-2009, 05:46 PM

"richg99" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:w9PZl.35298$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Thanks for your help so far ar.... however, the article references " the
> article LINKED below" No LINK is on the reply. I tried the "search" on
> the Garmin referenced article which led me in a loop back to " you haven't
> tried any recent searches", over and over again. Maybe this 70 year old
> guy can't follow instructions well enough. Would you please supply the
> LINK to the aforementioned article.. thanks Rich
>


You needed to complete the 'Market Name', 'Product' etc drop downs at the
top of the page

Try this
http://iqc.garmin.com/eCustomer/KODSelfService/request.do?create=kb:garmin&view()=c{aab60e60-5a7e-11dd-418d-000000000000}

which in turn links to the WebUpdater page
http://www8.garmin.com/products/webu...wtoinstall.jsp


 
Reply With Quote
 
Happy99
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-16-2009, 08:09 PM
age is no excuse.

"richg99" <(E-Mail Removed)> a écrit dans le message de
news:w9PZl.35298$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Thanks for your help so far ar.... however, the article references " the
> article LINKED below" No LINK is on the reply. I tried the "search" on
> the Garmin referenced article which led me in a loop back to " you haven't
> tried any recent searches", over and over again. Maybe this 70 year old
> guy can't follow instructions well enough. Would you please supply the
> LINK to the aforementioned article.. thanks Rich
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
richg99
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-16-2009, 08:26 PM
OK I have the web updater on my computer ... and... I am ready to do a
"master reset" as well. HOW do I ---"save all of my waypoints",---- please?
I've read the entire manual. It tells me how to add data ... i.e. mp3 etc.
.....but I cannot find a reference as to how one ...."saves and then
restores" ....their present waypoints. Any help appreciated. thanks Rich

 
Reply With Quote
 
OG
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-17-2009, 01:42 AM
richg99 wrote:
> OK I have the web updater on my computer ... and... I am ready to do a
> "master reset" as well. HOW do I ---"save all of my waypoints",----
> please? I've read the entire manual. It tells me how to add data ...
> i.e. mp3 etc. ....but I cannot find a reference as to how one ...."saves
> and then restores" ....their present waypoints. Any help appreciated.
> thanks Rich


Can't say anything about 'map' type data; but as for waypoints, routes
or tracks that you want to save...

Google, download and install EasyGPS and use the 'receive' button to
download all your data as a 'GPX' file

After the update, you can 'send' your historic data back to your Satnav.

NB I don't know how the upgrade affects stored map data, but if the
software is well written it should be independent of the stored data.
 
Reply With Quote
 
richg99
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-17-2009, 09:24 PM
Thanks to all who tried to help. Unfortunately, after trying all of the
above ideas...and then calling Garmin..the only solution seems to be sending
it in to Garmin.

As it costs about $90.00 to have the unit fixed...and considering that I
haven't yet updated my map ( for another $90.00 or so )...it isn't really
worth it. I'll take it apart and tinker and see if I can find an unsoldered
wire etc. Thanks, though, for all of your efforts. Rich

 
Reply With Quote
 
Happy99
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-17-2009, 10:18 PM
Best way to render it useless...

"richg99" <(E-Mail Removed)> a écrit dans le message de
news:uad_l.55$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Thanks to all who tried to help. Unfortunately, after trying all of the
> above ideas...and then calling Garmin..the only solution seems to be
> sending it in to Garmin.
>
> As it costs about $90.00 to have the unit fixed...and considering that I
> haven't yet updated my map ( for another $90.00 or so )...it isn't really
> worth it. I'll take it apart and tinker and see if I can find an
> unsoldered wire etc. Thanks, though, for all of your efforts. Rich


 
Reply With Quote
 
keith
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-17-2009, 10:38 PM
On Wed, 17 Jun 2009 16:24:37 -0500, richg99 wrote:

> Thanks to all who tried to help. Unfortunately, after trying all of the
> above ideas...and then calling Garmin..the only solution seems to be
> sending it in to Garmin.
>
> As it costs about $90.00 to have the unit fixed...and considering that I
> haven't yet updated my map ( for another $90.00 or so )...it isn't
> really worth it. I'll take it apart and tinker and see if I can find an
> unsoldered wire etc. Thanks, though, for all of your efforts. Rich


There was a thread about a year ago giving detailed info on how to take
it apart - I think it was amalgamated into a website by someone, so
probably worth a bit of searching. Only thing I can remember is that
there is a spring in the aerial pivot which tends to disappear to the
other side of the room unless great care is taken! 8-)

Keith
 
Reply With Quote
 
Gene E. Bloch
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-18-2009, 12:54 AM
On Thu, 18 Jun 2009 00:18:51 +0200, Happy99 wrote:

Although it's apparently useless already :-)

I would probably do the same as richg99 just for giggles.

> Best way to render it useless...
>
> "richg99" <(E-Mail Removed)> a écrit dans le message de
> news:uad_l.55$(E-Mail Removed)...
>> Thanks to all who tried to help. Unfortunately, after trying all of the
>> above ideas...and then calling Garmin..the only solution seems to be
>> sending it in to Garmin.
>>
>> As it costs about $90.00 to have the unit fixed...and considering that I
>> haven't yet updated my map ( for another $90.00 or so )...it isn't really
>> worth it. I'll take it apart and tinker and see if I can find an
>> unsoldered wire etc. Thanks, though, for all of your efforts. Rich



--
Gene E. Bloch letters0x40blochg0x2Ecom
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nuvi 350 find by coordinates? Fatfreek Garmin GPS 9 05-17-2007 04:48 PM
Best Prices on Garmin Nuvi 350, Nuvi 360, Nuvi 660 CAGuy Garmin GPS 4 11-15-2006 08:35 PM
Suddenly my Ipaq does not recognise the BT GPS anylonger filippo.casola@gmail.com General GPS Discussion 0 12-03-2005 01:04 PM
GPS MAP76 suddenly unable to aquire sattellites Voter General GPS Discussion 0 02-27-2004 07:04 PM
IQUE - locations suddenly moved to Africa The New Math General GPS Discussion 2 02-10-2004 01:21 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 PM.