GPS Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Garmin 350 - Plotting your own route ?

 
 
Caveat Lector
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-22-2007, 10:56 PM
Love the 350, but sometimes it takes me a route I don't want to go. I want
to plot my own route. Why do this you might ask if I know how I want to go a
certain way.

Well infrequent destinations and poor memory is one reason.
A friend advises a different route than the 350 plots.
Another is I plot the best route and wife can use it or vice versa
Another is kids or visitors (out-of-towners) want to go somewhere. using my
Nuvi.

I tried the detour several times but with poor results.

I suppose I could break the route into two or three destinations and switch
"where to" at the appropriate time.

Any ideas ??

CL ---Finding my way around San Diego


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Jack Erbes
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-23-2007, 12:55 AM
Caveat Lector wrote:
> Love the 350, but sometimes it takes me a route I don't want to go. I want
> to plot my own route. Why do this you might ask if I know how I want to go a
> certain way.
>
> Well infrequent destinations and poor memory is one reason.
> A friend advises a different route than the 350 plots.
> Another is I plot the best route and wife can use it or vice versa
> Another is kids or visitors (out-of-towners) want to go somewhere. using my
> Nuvi.


All good reasons of course. And how about if you just want to go the
way that you know will use the best choice of roads for the time of day,
traffic loading, or the mode of transportation you're using?


> I tried the detour several times but with poor results.
>
> I suppose I could break the route into two or three destinations and switch
> "where to" at the appropriate time.
>
> Any ideas ??


Buy a classic, like a StreetPilot 2610. Or a handheld like a 76Cx.
Either of those is will give you full control of routing and are better
navigation tools then any of the "i" or "c" series or nuvi models.

Some of the Garmin dash mounted models offer multiple destination
routing, on some models that has become to be known as "adding via
points".

It is a little unfortunate, but Garmin does not consider a list of basic
navigation features or capabilities to be important enough to list
clearly and for each model on the web pages that describe the models.

They are either stupid or being deceptive, I'm not sure which.
Generally, if you buy the more expensive models, you will get the
multiple destination routing capability. But it would be a lot easier
if you could decide what features you want and buy a model that has them
instead of going through a "learner" model or two first.

You can usually figure it all out buy studying the fine print, reading
the manual, using the product comparison pages, and really working at it.

But in the meantime, the only real work around is to have a number of
favorites placed on the roads you would turn off on to and then to go to
those one at a time in sequence. When you get onto the new road, then
start a Goto for the next one.

On some routes you have to write them all down to keep track of them and
it can become very distracting and take a lot of the fun out of owning
autorouting GPS receiver.

..




>
> CL ---Finding my way around San Diego
>
>



--
Jack Erbes in Ellsworth, Maine, USA (jackerbes at adelphia dot net)
(also receiving email at jacker at midmaine dot com)
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
John Richards
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-23-2007, 07:38 AM
"Caveat Lector" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:qibth.1$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Love the 350, but sometimes it takes me a route I don't want to go. I want
> to plot my own route. Why do this you might ask if I know how I want to go a
> certain way.
>
> Well infrequent destinations and poor memory is one reason.
> A friend advises a different route than the 350 plots.
> Another is I plot the best route and wife can use it or vice versa
> Another is kids or visitors (out-of-towners) want to go somewhere. using my
> Nuvi.
>
> I tried the detour several times but with poor results.
>
> I suppose I could break the route into two or three destinations and switch
> "where to" at the appropriate time.


The Nuvi 350 does allow you to insert one "via" which if judiciously chosen
is often sufficient to force the desired route.
Otherwise you'll have to break the trip into multiple segments.

--
John Richards
 
Reply With Quote
 
Don F
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-23-2007, 12:50 PM
"Caveat Lector" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:qibth.1$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Love the 350, but sometimes it takes me a route I don't want to go. I want
> to plot my own route. Why do this you might ask if I know how I want to go
> a certain way.
> Well infrequent destinations and poor memory is one reason.
> A friend advises a different route than the 350 plots.
> Another is I plot the best route and wife can use it or vice versa
> Another is kids or visitors (out-of-towners) want to go somewhere. using
> my Nuvi.
> I tried the detour several times but with poor results.
> I suppose I could break the route into two or three destinations and
> switch "where to" at the appropriate time.
> Any ideas ??
> CL ---Finding my way around San Diego

------------
The Nuvi is meant for a different market segment. Look at the features.
The GPSRs that Jack has mentioned are excellent for routing with
preferences. I have an old autorouting GPSMAP 60C which worked great with
the exception of a 56MB limit for loading map details which caused some
weird problems when I drove out of an area without map detail loaded . I
suspect that any GPSR will have it's own routing quirks depending on where
you are driving. Just search the postings.
The Nuvi is very easy to use which will should make the selection of via
points easy while traveling. The benefit to this is that I will be
*assured* that I am traveling the route *I* prefer.
I know I will miss the multiple waypoint routing feature but I hope that
the other Nuvi feature will outweigh my disappointment.
Don F



 
Reply With Quote
 
Caveat Lector
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-23-2007, 03:32 PM
Thanks John for the info. But can't seem to enter a "Via" in my "Where To"
sequence

Is this part of the POI feature?

CL

"John Richards" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:JXith.51704$(E-Mail Removed). net...
> "Caveat Lector" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:qibth.1$(E-Mail Removed)...
>> Love the 350, but sometimes it takes me a route I don't want to go. I
>> want to plot my own route. Why do this you might ask if I know how I want
>> to go a certain way.
>>
>> Well infrequent destinations and poor memory is one reason.
>> A friend advises a different route than the 350 plots.
>> Another is I plot the best route and wife can use it or vice versa
>> Another is kids or visitors (out-of-towners) want to go somewhere. using
>> my Nuvi.
>>
>> I tried the detour several times but with poor results.
>>
>> I suppose I could break the route into two or three destinations and
>> switch "where to" at the appropriate time.

>
> The Nuvi 350 does allow you to insert one "via" which if judiciously
> chosen
> is often sufficient to force the desired route.
> Otherwise you'll have to break the trip into multiple segments.
>
> --
> John Richards



 
Reply With Quote
 
Jack Erbes
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-23-2007, 06:21 PM
Caveat Lector wrote:
> Thanks John for the info. But can't seem to enter a "Via" in my "Where To"
> sequence
>
> Is this part of the POI feature?


Page 5 in the manual, it says you can add a stop to a active route.

Touch Menu, Whereto, pick a destination, and touch Go. It will route
you to the original final destination after the stop.

A detour is not a via point, it causes it to look for a different route.

Jack

--
Jack Erbes in Ellsworth, Maine, USA (jackerbes at adelphia dot net)
(also receiving email at jacker at midmaine dot com)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Caveat Lector
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-23-2007, 08:15 PM
Wow Jack - works very well -- thanks.

The manual should explain this better as how to help plot a desired route.

Example I want to go from Oceanside, CA to Mt View, CA - 445 miles to the
north.

Garmin sez take I-5, but I want to take 1-15 to I-210 and avoid a lot of LA
traffic. Using the STOP feature -- the Garmin did just that.

On the other hand, I could ignore Garmin's direction to I-5 and take I-15.
It knows where I am on I-15 and would recalculate from there.

With this altered route, now I can find gas, food, etc near my current
position.

Perhaps the Garmin folks are reading all this ??

Oh well - the 350 is still a marvel and the folks here have been a great
help, thanks

As Yogi Berra once sed
I think we are lost, but making good time (:-0

CL
"Jack Erbes" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> Caveat Lector wrote:
>> Thanks John for the info. But can't seem to enter a "Via" in my "Where
>> To" sequence
>>
>> Is this part of the POI feature?

>
> Page 5 in the manual, it says you can add a stop to a active route.
>
> Touch Menu, Whereto, pick a destination, and touch Go. It will route you
> to the original final destination after the stop.
>
> A detour is not a via point, it causes it to look for a different route.
>
> Jack
>
> --
> Jack Erbes in Ellsworth, Maine, USA (jackerbes at adelphia dot net)
> (also receiving email at jacker at midmaine dot com)



 
Reply With Quote
 
Alex
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-29-2007, 01:52 PM

"Caveat Lector" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news1uth.97$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Perhaps the Garmin folks are reading all this ??


I don't think so.

But they do read http://www.gps-forums.net/(E-Mail Removed)


Best wishes,
Alex.

--
Address email to user "response" at domain "alexoren" with suffix "com"

--
Posted via a free Usenet account from http://www.teranews.com

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Put your own voice on your sat nav ! nickw7coc@gmail.com Global Navigation Satellite Systems 0 12-20-2007 07:01 PM
Put your own voice on your sat nav ! nickw7coc@gmail.com Garmin GPS 0 12-20-2007 07:01 PM
Put your own voice on your sat nav ! nickw7coc@gmail.com General GPS Discussion 0 12-20-2007 07:01 PM
Find and Create your very own POI downloads for your Garmin www.POIfriend.com davekraw@gmail.com Garmin GPS 0 10-19-2007 02:22 AM
Make your own Topo-Maps and up load them to your Garmin-GPS-Unit HaDe Global Navigation Satellite Systems 0 11-01-2003 01:03 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 AM.